Dude, where’s my stuff?

28 Oct

“Once I pulled a job, I was so stupid. I picked a guy’s pocket on an airplane and made a run for it.” — Rodney Dangerfield

So, I know I have been remiss about posting here, but here I am at Ben Gurion Airport for my 3rd Israel/Boston roundtrip in less than 3 months.  At least I have my Daft Punk and my free Wifi, life could be much, much worse.

Part of the reason for my absence is that I finally received my things a week ago!  I’m not gonna lie, the first month and a half here have been hard, and I stayed positive because the things worth doing in life are rarely easy.  Building a new life is difficult, but once I have a strong foundation in place, it will get easier.  So on August 27, all of my furniture and most of my worldly belongings were packed up and placed on a truck in Boston.  For the next week and a half I couch surfed, and arrived in Israel with 3 suitcases full of clothing and shoes and whatnot.  Why do I have so much stuff?  My cousin gave me an air mattress which was my only furniture-like item.  For a week I didn’t have kitchen appliances, it took another week and a half to get a fridge, and another month to get other furniture.

There are people who have it much, much worse than I did, don’t get me wrong.  Still, I was living like a vagabond.  I knew this would be the case, but I underestimated the personal toll that it would take on me.  A month and a half on an air mattress is too long, I will tell you that right now.  You probably already knew that, but ya know. Sitting on the floor to eat your meals will not inspire you to cook healthy food, and not being comfortable in general does not result in productivity.

So, needless to say, after a long drawn out ordeal with my shipping company (I am giving them a chance to rectify the situation before I go into my whole experience with them), I was over the moon to have my things.  Specifically, my couches and my bed.  After 5 years of sleeping on a futon, I finally got my first big girl bed in early July, and we didn’t even have a month together before we were cruelly separated.  The day the movers came, they took a look at the shoebox I live in, looked at my furniture, and didn’t believe it was going to fit.  I started to wonder too when my apartment was completely filled with boxes and I was trapped in a corner R. Kelly style.  I don’t have a closet big enough to get trapped in, whatcanyado.

Through a creative use of space, everything is in.  My bed takes up my whole bedroom, and let’s just say it’s a bit tzafuf — crowded — in there.  It’s kind of like playing a game of frogger, jumping from one furniture item to the next to get around, which is pretty fun.  Now that I have a table to eat on I am excited to cook and now that I have a bed I am excited to sleep every night.

I finally was able to get my spinning resume translated into Hebrew and send it to a local gym.  My attempt to translate myself was horrifying, so the lesson there is to sit with someone else and translate it together.  They probably will not be able to edit the shitshow that you produce by translating yourself into a coherent resume.  Once I sent the resume in I got an interview the next day and now I finally have a spinning class and a gym membership, which is huge.  Exercise is something I love, it is a way to strengthen my mind-body connection, it’s a time I feel truly at peace.  It’s also really fulfilling to challenge myself, to really focus and see results.  In terms of my quality of life, this is a huge development.

After a week of friend and family time in Boston I come back, teach my first class the next day, start ulpan, and I feel that there is positive momentum and hopefully there will be new developments in the full-time job search.  I’m also going to apply to an MBA program here.  After 2 months of living in limbo and frankly, being pretty bored (as much fun as all of those governmental offices I’ve been frequenting are), I am so excited to have some structure in my life.  It’s 3am and I am tired, which bodes well for my drowning myself in wine on this flight and sleeping like a baby, but does not make for the most exciting blog post.  Fear not, my hot mess of an Ikea adventure and general shenanigans will be forthcoming, and until then, lehitraot.

One Response to “Dude, where’s my stuff?”

  1. Carolyn October 28, 2010 at 5:35 pm #

    Oh, I hate living out of a suitcase! Feeling unsettled like that is the worst. I’m so glad you have your things now. You can’t really start on your life until you have your home set up.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

